Take Two: A New Home for Notes on K-pop

Take Two: A New Home for Notes on K-pop

Trying things out here on Ghost

Welcome to my new home!

If you're seeing this, it's (hopefully) because you are already a subscriber to Notes on K-pop, free or paid. Due the company's policy of complicity towards Nazis, white supremacy, and all around hate speech, I am no longer using Substack. I really enjoyed the platform, and loved building Notes on K-pop there over the past year and then some.

But the start of a new year felt like the perfect time to find a new home. So welcome to Notes on K-pop, Take Two. Thank you so much for all your support there, I hope you can continue supporting Notes on K-pop in its new variation.

I'm going to be taking January 2024 a bit slow, because I'll be traveling (see below) a bit this month, and because I need to play around this new platform. And also, and most importantly, because I'm going to sit down for a few days and plan out content for this year. I have a few things planned, and really want to elevate this newsletter in 2024 to become a great place for both industry folks and fans alike. I feel like last year things got a bit haphazard at times, and you, and I, deserve better.

💡
If you'd like to leave a comment about what sort of content you'd like to read in 2024 from Notes on K-pop, I'd greatly appreciate it!

That said, I will likely be changing up my posting calendar a bit (and may get back into Tiktok/Reels!), so please bare with me while I play around a bit. But don't worry! I won't leave you totally up in the lurch: In the next week or two, I'll have a 2023 retrospective looking into what 2024 will bring, and maybe some fun short pieces about visiting Seoul for the first time in four years.

Yes! I'll be heading to Seoul next week for a very brief trip. I don't explicitly have any plans for Notes on K-pop coverage there, but going to keep my eyes peeled. If you're in Seoul and want to meet up, please hit me up. I don't know if I have a lot of free time yet, but it's my first trip since the onset of the pandemic in early 2020, and I have a lot of catching up to do.

See you all soon!